Suara Rakyat Malaysia (SUARAM) is pleased to announce that the deadline for submission of nomination for the SUARAM 16th Human Rights Award 2014 has been extended for one more week. The new deadline for submission of nomination is 21 November 2014.

Only communities or grouping of peoples are eligible for nomination. Nomination of an individual will not be accepted.  All nominations must be sent by email to [email protected] or by post or hand delivery to Suara Rakyat Malaysia,

433A, Jalan 5/46, Gasing Indah, Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

The selection of the winner of this award is based on three criteria:

  • Community or group of people which has struggled persistently and fearlessly in defending their rights, justice and dignity against oppression
  • Organization and leadership of the people which has empowered and activated their people in the process of struggle and to continue in their efforts to promote and protect human rights
  • Preference will be given to those who have made an impact in the current year

Progress for human rights has always been an uphill battle and it is necessary for human rights organisations to show solidarity supports for one another. The annual SUARAM Human Rights Award seeks to give recognition to NGO, local communities, and collectives in their outstanding and inspiring endeavours to protect and promote human rights activism in Malaysia.

This year, 15 years after the inaugural award was presented in 1999, SUARAM once again is proud to call for nominations for this award.

In deciding the winner, the judges will consider the impact, struggles, hardships that the community, group of people or organisations had been through in promoting, protecting and defending rights, justice and dignity against oppressions and all adversities.

The winner of the award will be announced at the launch of SUARAM Human Rights Overview 2014, to be held on 9th December 2014.

Previous winners of the award include:

1999    : The people of Kampung Sungai Nipah

2000    : The Reformasi Movement

2001    : Save Our Schools Damansara and wives of ISA detainees (joint winners)

2002    : Police Watch & Human Rights Committee

2003    : The former plantation workers’ community of Ladang Braemar

2004    : The Kuala Kuang villagers and the workers of Euromedical Industries (joint winners)

2005    : The Temuan Orang Asli Community from Kampung Bukit Tampoi in Dengkil

2006    : The Chin Refugee Committee and the Bukit Jelutong plantation community (joint winners)

2007    : The Coalition against Healthcare Privatisation and the residents of Kampung Sungai Terentang, Rawang (joint winners)

2008    : The Penan community of Ulu Baram, Sarawak and the Hindu Rights Action Force (HINDRAF) (joint winners)

2009    : Gerakan Mansuhkan ISA (GMI)

2010    : Sg. Rinching Action Committee

2011    : Bersih 2.0 Working Committee and Save Malaysia, Stop Lynas (SMSL) (joint winners)

2012    : Himpunan Hijau and the Murum and Baram communities

2013    : Taskforce Against Kaiduan Dam and Taman Permata Dengkil committee (joint winners)


For more information on the criteria, nomination and selection process of Suaram annual human rights award 2014, please click the following link:


Public members may also contact Serene Lim at [email protected] or 03-77843525 for more information.


Released by,


Serene Lim